Latest News

Sheila Tudor wins BAGS-sponsored Kennelhand of the Year Award 2013

The Greyhound Board of Great Britain (GBGB) is pleased to announce that Sheila Tudor, Head Kennelhand to Professional Trainer Kim Billingham has won the Kennelhand of the Year Award for 2013. Sheila will collect the £500 first prize and BAGS-sponsored trophy on Sunday 26th January at the Greyhound of the Year Awards at the Manchester Hilton Deansgate.

An expert judging panel comprising Channel 4’s Tanya Stevenson, Jonathan Hobbs of the Racing Post, RGT Chief Executive Peter Laurie and Professional Trainer Norah McEllistrim, voted unanimously in favour of the 58 year-old handler who first took out a GBGB licence in 1997 under John Coxon before moving to Kim Billingham, attached to Monmore Green.

Two runners-up were also awarded £250; Lee Dangerfield for Ernie Gaskin and Abbie Georghoudis for Martyn Wiley. Sheila Tudor was described by her nominator Michael Kelly, former kennelhand to Tom Chamberlain and Geoff DeMulder, as irreplaceable and an unsung hero who often attends work on her days off to look after the dogs with whom she shares an affinity, drives countless miles for the kennel and who has dedicated her whole life to greyhound racing.    

GBGB Press Officer, James McCreadie said:

 “The quality of nominations was typically high and came from all corners of the country thanks to owners, trainers, fellow kennel-staff and friends of dedicated handlers who have gone that extra mile and shown exceptional dedication in their duties.

“Congratulations to Sheila who was genuinely shocked on hearing the news and to Lee and Abbie who finished as runners-up in a really strong contest. We know how hard people are working day-in day-out to care for greyhound welfare and it’s a privilege to be able to recognise that at our annual awards ceremony.”

The Greyhound of the Year Awards have sold out with the venue now booked to full capacity. The sport’s national awards ceremony celebrates the best greyhounds from the class of 2013 and recognises the achievements of those people who have made outstanding contributions to the sport.