Latest News


The £250,000 to the winner William Hill Greyhound Derby closes for entries on Tuesday and prospects have their last chance to run in a Derby Trial Stakes this Saturday night. There are thirteen Trial Stakes at Wimbledon on Saturday night, which means there will have been a total of 35 before the competition kicks off in two weeks’ time, compared to 20 in the run up to last years’ Derby. While the increased number of Trial Stakes is probably indicative of increased interest generated by the record prize money of £250,000, we will have to wait until Tuesday afternoon, after entries close, to see if that translates into the number of entries.

The highlight of Saturday’s card is surely Trial Stakes at 9.40, which brings together the reigning champion Salad Dodger, Juvenile winner Ballymac Brogan and the current track record holder Fiery Splendour. Monmore Puppy Derby finalist Romany Rouge, Irish Raider Riverside Pat and John Mullins’ Toosey Ted complete the line-up.

Monmore Gold Cup winner Viking Jack takes on Kinsley Gymcrack winner Stay Loose in the Division M at 10.40, while Romford Coronation Cup winner Soviet Kenny takes on Nottingham National Sprint winner Geelo Vegas in the 10.11

The above mentioned Ballymac Brogan won the toughest, on paper, of last week’s Trial Stakes, smashing out of the boxes and recording a 4.84 sectional to beat Arc winner King Dec to the first bend and lead all the way home in 28.40. However, the performance of the night was surely that of Patrick Janssen’s See No Gamble, who recorded the fastest time and sectional of the night (28.40 and 4.76) when beating Jaytee Dutch by 2 ½ lengths.

Current ante post favourite Droopys Nidge justified his position at the head of the market with a 28.21 trial on Wednesday when Graham Holland’s Gaytime Hawk was next quickest in 28.23. Roxholme Ted was fastest of the sprint triallists, clocking 15.90 for the 273 metre trip, 1 spot faster than Farloe Blitz.

Wimbledon will holding an extra trial session on Thursday in addition to the regular Wednesday session. The draw will take place next Sunday and will be broadcast live on Racing Post Greyhound TV.