Latest News

Sponsor Loves Sprinters - Bresmed Northern Sprint Final - Sheffield 280m - £8,000

Affane Party - favourite for tonight's Northern Sprint final


THE BresMed Northern Sprint is the richest sprint competition in the GBGB Calendar with its Category One status elevating the two-bend event to one of the biggest races of the year for owners and trainers - and Sheffield is proud to host it again.


The involvement of Nic Brereton’s company, which provides consultancy services to the healthcare and pharmaceutical industries, has helped increase the status of the Northern Sprint from a minor Category Three competition to where it is now.


“I’ve always loved sprinters and was lucky to have owned a Sprinter of the Year in Geelo Vegas in 2014,” he says. “He actually made the Derby semi-finals the following year - a real thrill and rollercoaster ride for myself, my family and that of our trainer Carl Perry.


“Vegas was an entry himself in the Northern Sprint in 2015 and made the semi-finals - the consolation being he went out behind the eventual winner Daytime Flyer. He was a real star and won the National Sprint at Nottingham which was a great achievement.”


The cut and thrust of sprinting has always appealed to Brereton. “It’s the raw pace that you just admire, which is why a lack of financial support for sprinters surprised me when I first decided to get involved in 2015, and helped revive the competition,” he says.


Some great names have competed in the Northern Sprint over the years, especially in recent renewals where sprinting greats such as Walshes Hill, Hiya Butt, Target Harris and Roxholme Hat have tried to win the 280m event with varying degrees of fortune.


Last year's champion was Mashmad Eyebrows, who edged out Hiya Butt, and in the process completed back-to-back victories for the Kevin Hutton kennel after the Towcester-based trainer had struck 12 months previously with Glenamore Ace.


The ‘first’ BresMed Northern Sprint in 2015 saw success for the north east as the Peter Wood-trained Daytime Flyer raced away from his rivals to land his trainer his most notable success - claiming the then £4,000 prize. This year’s first prize is £8,000.


Time will tell whether the 2018 winner will return next year to defend his title, just as the exceptional Magna Buddy did at the turn of the decade, while another glance at the history books shows just what a backstory the Northern Sprint has.


For instance, what links the Northern Sprint winners of the 1999 and 2002 - Leaders Highway and Larkhill Bullet respectively? Both were sons of Oaks champions in the form of Simple Trend (1991) and Annies Bullet (1996). Did you know that?!


It is that sort of history that tonight’s finalists will bid to join. The roll of honour for the BresMed Northern Sprint is a classy one and sits alongside Sheffield’s other major events - the Steel City Cup, Three Steps to Victory, Queen Mother Cup and Harry Holmes Memorial. 



Recent Northern Sprint winners


2017 Mashmad Eyebrows (Kevin Hutton) 16.09

2016 Glenanore Ace (Kevin Hutton)          15.94

2015 Daytime Flyer (Peter Wood)             15.95    

2014 NOT RUN

2013 NOT RUN

2012 Jumeirah Dubai (Julie Calvert)    16.12                  

2011 Magna Buddy (Jimmy Wright)           15.87  

2010 Magna Buddy (Barrie Draper)           15.90  

Tonight's Finals line up: 1 Blakes Flyer, 2 Affane Party, 3 Fridays Zeus, 4 Sherlock (m), 5 Cotton Pants (m), 6 Elegant Denis (m).